jump to navigation

Sid Meier February 28, 2015

Posted by WorldbyStorm in Culture.
trackback

As long time fan of Sid Meier’s Civilization, and a raft of games from him and Microprose over the years, it’s nice to read this in the Guardian.

He appears to be engaging and wear his fame lightly. That said I found after Civilization II my interest waned, until using an iOS version of Civilization Revolutions (natch!). There was just something a bit too fussy about the graphics as compared to the original Civilization and Civilization II.

Sadly it’s impossible to play Civ I on an OS X machine, but I’ve found a workaround for Civ II by using Virtual Box, installing Windows 98 SE and a PC version of the game. So far so good. Spaceships, his latest one looks good.

Comments»

1. AonRud - February 28, 2015

It’s interesting what he says about education. I expect there are several historical monuments I first heard of from Civilisation, though with the flaw of having no clue who really built them 🙂

By the way, have you tried Dosbox for Civ 1? A quick search suggests it works, and there’s a Mac version.

Like

WorldbyStorm - February 28, 2015

I haven’t but will!

Like

RosencrantzisDead - March 1, 2015

You can play A windows version of Civ 2 via Wine, I believe.

If you are willing to give some of the sequels a second look, Civ 4 is available for Mac and comes complete with narration by Leonard Nimoy.

Like

Aonrud - March 1, 2015

I just tried Civ 1 with Dosbox on Linux and it works perfectly, I assume the Mac port works the same.

I’d forgotten how good it was, and how much they managed to get out of crappy PC speakers without sound cards.

Like

WorldbyStorm - March 1, 2015

RiD, I’ve IV and V, but the old charm of the early ones… ah, bitmapped illustrations of tribes racing right to left as they found a city! Pure nostalgia. Will give that a go Aonrud. Do you need the original Civ I disks or anything>

Like

Aonrud - March 1, 2015

Nah, it’s abandonware at this stage. You can download it in all it’s 1.4MB in about half a second 🙂

Like

que - February 28, 2015

Civ is going to be released for android soon enough.

Like

2. deiseach - March 1, 2015

I knew there had to be a reason I liked you 😉

Like

WorldbyStorm - March 1, 2015

🙂

Like


Leave a Reply

