jump to navigation

Any Seanad Candidates for Lefties too stubborn to quit? March 22, 2016

Posted by irishelectionliterature in Irish Politics.
trackback

If you are a Trinity or NUI Graduate or indeed a Councillor, Senator or TD, well the leaflets have come in post. You may have got emails or other communications too.
Even though I’m an NUI graduate, I didn’t bother voting in the last Seanad election as I thought the ballot paper had the potential to be a collectors item after the place was scrapped. It wasn’t scrapped so we are back again.
Anyway there are some candidates running for the NUI that I definitely won’t be voting for ….. as for who to vote for I don’t know much about that many of the candidates, they all seem to be into Reform of the Seanad , there are all sorts of voices… a ‘New voice’, ‘Fresh Voice’, ‘Trusted Voice’, ‘Independent Voice’ etc etc …Rory Hearne is one name that springs to mind that seems decent enough.. is there anyone else running on the the NUI (or Trinity) panels worth voting for?
or is worth going all the way down the ballot to leave certain candidates out?

Comments»

1. damonmatthewwise - March 22, 2016

Tried 4th time to get nomination in the Administrative panel for the Seanad.

Damon Matthew Wise Âû

On 22 March 2016 at 16:53, The Cedar Lounge Revolution wrote:

> irishelectionliterature posted: “If you are a Trinity or NUI Graduate or > indeed a Councillor, Senator or TD, well the leaflets have come in post. > You may have got emails or other communications too. Even though I’m an NUI > graduate, I didn’t bother voting in the last Seanad election as I” >

Like

2. Gearóid - March 22, 2016

Apparently Cian Prendiville is running.

Like

Jolly Red Giant - March 22, 2016

On the Labour Panel. He was nominated by the AAA/PBP parliamentary group.

Like

depps - March 23, 2016

Do AAA-PBP have the required numbers to get Prendiville elected, or will he be depending on support from left independents?

Like

3. EWI - March 22, 2016

Whoever is moderately left, and has a chance of spoiling David Begg’s…

Liked by 1 person

4. 1798Mike - March 22, 2016

I would recommend Rory Hearne to all NUI graduates. A man of the radical left. An activist who supports the Right2Change platform. Works as a researcher with TASC. Check him out on social media.
I’ll be giving him Number 1.

Liked by 1 person

irishelectionliterature - March 22, 2016

Thanks, It’s funny in that I’m sure that there are many like myself who know who they won’t vote for but know little or nothing about the rest of the candidates

Like

5. 6to5against - March 22, 2016

I’m thinking Tom Clonan for TCD. I like his focus on disabled rights, and think he might be an effective advocate there. Plus, I heard him lay into the austerity agenda once or twice with some eloquence. And maybe Lynn Ruane.

But I’d be open to advice.

Like

EWI - March 22, 2016

Clonan is an Anglophilic NATO-head, and an IT darling. Personally not my cup of tea…

Liked by 1 person

EWI - March 22, 2016

Lynn Ruane is fantastic, someone who self-educated themselves out of the all-too-typical bad situation facing young women in Tallaght, and actually has a coherent and insightful analysis of the issues involved. Anyone else hear her speaking at the 1916 seminar in Liberty Hall last weekend?

Liked by 1 person

irishelectionliterature - March 22, 2016

I was talking to Lynn Ruane (and her daughter) during the election count in Dublin SW. An impressive lady.

Like

Tomboktu - March 23, 2016

My distinctly apolitical niece, who voted fit the first time in the Marriage Equality referendum because I asked her to, asked me a few weeks ago, if I have a Seanad vote, to vote for Lynn.

Two gains there, I think: a newly engaged citizen in my niece and a good candidate in Lynn.

Like

6to5against - March 22, 2016

I know of Clonan’s military past, but does he push a NATO agenda, particularly? I tend to assume all army types will do so, but I don’t think Ive heard him….

Like

dublinstreams - March 22, 2016

Tom Clonan BS’ing about Russian military planes in Irish airspace bit.ly/1FxKm5o they weren’t in Irish airspace

Like

EWI - March 23, 2016

He’s also written up pieces for the Irish Times on Irish neutrality during WWII which woulld cause you to double-check which army he served in.

Like

EWI - March 23, 2016

Not all ‘army types’ are pro-NATO, certainly not in the past when there was principle (rather than fear of the electorate) involved in being non-aligned. This has changed significantly, but in response to a cultural shift as the project to neuter Irish republicanism has developed.

Like

dublinstreams - March 23, 2016

don’t have a vote in this and as much as we don’t know Clonan’s politics, I see Karen Devine is running in NUI, she very strong on her research on neutrality although I guess she wouldn’t see the research itself as polticial, she is always challenging on the media she has been on, she cites reproductive rights as her motivation for running.

Like

6. Joe - March 22, 2016

Got all the bumpf from the NUI candidates today. All kinds of no hopers and youngish worthies. Positive mental health seems to be the new motherhood and apple pie.
Will probably vote Hearne and one or two more including the baldy GP who was the Rossies gaa team doctor. Sadly, Ronan Mullen and Michael McDowell will probably be elected and a.n. other.

The young lad who is away in Canada is getting all the Trinners candidate bumpf. I told him I’d forge his paper and vote for him if he wished but he declined my offer. I do hope Lynn Ruane makes it. I suppose Norris and Barrett will get back in.

Like

irishelectionliterature - March 23, 2016

Not so sure re Norris. Bacik, Barrett and Power could get in there. Norris has a feeling of yesterdays man about him these days.

Like

WorldbyStorm - March 23, 2016

That s interesting your take, you really think power in with a shot?

Like

irishelectionliterature - March 23, 2016

Hard to know as it’s such an ‘odd’ electorate. I don’t think Norris has done himself any favours in the last while and is in danger. It could be Ruane or Power that takes the seat. I could be totally wrong but I think name recognition gives a big advantage in Seanad elections, especially with transfers. That said I look at my own NUI vote and most of the candidates I do know I don’t want to voter for! Power may have been in FF etc but if I were a Trinity voter she would certainly get a high vote from me for the work she did in the Seanad on adoption.

Like

7. roddy - March 23, 2016

Big topic of conversation up here.People wrecked with worry as to how the “Trinners” panel will go !

Like

WorldbyStorm - March 23, 2016

🙂

Like

EWI - March 23, 2016

You say that glibly, but activists have got to eat, and being a Senator gives the likes of Mullen and Norris the opportunity (denied the rest of us) to be politically active.

Like

Joe - March 24, 2016

I see there’s two lads going forward, one for NUI and one for Trinners, on an emigrant Senator ticket. Saying elect us and we’ll be the first overseas senators and we’ll campaign for votes for emigrants and all that. I had a gander at the NUI lad’s leaflet. They missed out on the obvious slogan: “Put him in to bring him home.”

Like

irishelectionliterature - March 24, 2016

They missed a trick alright. The passport style used on the NUI lads leaflet is quite good.

Like

8. irishelectionliterature - March 23, 2016

On Seanad matters , I see Senator Kathryn Reilly didn’t get nominated by Sinn Fein. Seems a bit odd, would have thought they would have room somewhere for her on the ticket.

Like

EWI - March 23, 2016

Have Labour re-nominated that one-trick ex-dissident official?

Liked by 1 person

irishelectionliterature - March 23, 2016

No, no women at all.

Like


Leave a Reply

