jump to navigation

This Weekend I’ll Mostly Be Listening to… Covers of Billy Bragg Songs March 26, 2016

Posted by irishelectionliterature in This Weekend I'll Mostly Be Listening to....
trackback

I happened upon the Dubstar version of “St Swithins Day” again recently and I’d forgotten how much I liked it. It has been my favourite Billy Bragg cover since I heard it first almost 20 years ago. (There’s a wonderful live version somewhere with Billy Bragg joining them, alas I couldn’t find it for this.)
Although now far more famous than the original I’m not a great fan of Kirty McColls version of “A New England” just doesn’t have the edge that the original had. In a strange way too being sung by a woman rather than a man changes the way the listener thinks of the song. It’s also nice to air a well known Left Wing band like The Redskins here too. I like their cover of “Levi Stubbs Tears”. The Small Hours are band I know little about but I though their version of “The Milkman of Human Kindness” was decent enough. June Tabors version of “Rumours of War” is quite nice.
Speaking of June Tabor…..I came across some awful covers, The Oysterband being particular culprits with a horrific version of “Between The Wars” and a dreadful version of “Valentine’s Day Is Over”. There were also some metal covers of various Bragg songs which didn’t appeal to me much at all.


June Tabor

Comments»

1. Tomboktu - March 26, 2016

Tangential connection but in the same vein:

Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

