jump to navigation

Remembering the Civil War May 27, 2016

Posted by irishelectionliterature in Uncategorized.
trackback

I was at an excellent lecture on 1916 by Diarmaid Ferriter at my GAA club recently. He spoke for well over an hour hardly taking a breath. Part of what he covered was of course the Commemorations and how the general consensus was that the State Centenary celebrations had been a success….but even so there will always be issues with Commemorations an example given was the new wall at Glasnevin.
At the end there were questions , one in particular was intriguing (it was the day after Fianna Fail had ruled out coalition with Fine Gael, so the Civil War was topical). At the end of the The Decade of Centenaries how will we Remember and Commemorate The Civil War?
There was a group of Historians established in 2012 to advise the Government on the best way to mark the Decade of Centenaries. The Rising and War of Independence is the ‘easy’ part. It’s actually from The Treaty onwards that difficulties arise.
There are of course Civil War related monuments all over the country from Béal na mBláth to Ballyseedy. There will be local commemorations , as there always are. The Political Parties will have their own ceremonies (many of them are annual events already).
Will there be State ceremonies at all?

Comments»

1. Michael Carley - May 27, 2016

I’ve just read his book A Nation And Not A Rabble, and he is very good on how the period is remembered and commemorated.

Like

irishelectionliterature - May 27, 2016

He is, he literally started talking at 8.30 and didn’t take a breath for over an hour!

Like

2. Joe - May 27, 2016

I got into the 1916 commemorations big time. My inner nationalist just took over. In a good way. And the way we all handled the 1916 stuff was pretty much universally good imho.
But I fear now for the Civil War commemorations. One fear is that my inner Dev FF republican will take over next. I pass a photographer’s window on my way home every day and it’s a shrine to those Free State bastards – photos of Collins and Griffith and Mulcahy and the like. And I want to get out my big black marker and scrawl ‘Remember the 77’, ‘Up the Republic’ all over it.
I picked up a book in a bookshop a few weeks back. Interviews by Ernie O’Malley with anti-Treaty IRA veterans. The piece I read was a bunch of Cork volunteers talking about fighting in Donegal against a load of ‘Free State shilling’ new recruits who’d never lifted a finger during the War of Independence.

My ma’s family are north Cork Liam Lynch republican. My wife’s family are west Cork Collins Staters. Whatever about the State handling the centenary delicately, my head and heart and house will need the diplomatic skills of a Canadian ambassador to get through with minimum casualties.

Liked by 1 person

irishelectionliterature - May 27, 2016

Where the hope I’m sure will be for some of kind “National Reconciliation”, I think there’s a danger that the whole thing could rekindle some old divides.

Like

Dr.Nightdub - November 5, 2016

Joe, I presume you’re talking about “The Men Will Talk To Me – West Cork”? I must add that to my Santa list, as my mum’s uncle was one of the Boys of Kilmichael and was interned during the Civil War. On the other hand, my da’s father was adjutant of the Free State army in Donegal and fought against those same Cork volunteers; however he very definitely did lift a finger during the War of Independence: https://www.mercierpress.ie/irish-books/from_pogrom_to_civil_war-_tom_glennon_and_the_belfast_ira/

Like

3. sonofstan - May 27, 2016

Maybe we could go for reenactments like they do with the Civil Wars here in the Uk and in the US. What could possibly go wrong?

Like

4. oldpoet56 - May 27, 2016

Reblogged this on Truth Troubles: Why people hate the truths' of the real world and commented:
Politicians, yuck, politician, is that another way to spell the word fraud?

Like

5. roddy - November 5, 2016

Bourgeois Nationalists the lot of you!

Like


Leave a Reply

