jump to navigation

The Rebuild has begun … June 20, 2016

Posted by irishelectionliterature in Irish Politics.
trackback

118 new members!!!

Many thanks to the person who forwarded this on

Dear Friend,

Just over four weeks have passed since I was elected Leader of the Labour Party. It is an incredible honour to hold this position, and I am focussed on rebuilding this great party of ours.

I have made it clear that my intention is to build an inclusive leadership – one that recognises all of the talents in our party. Our party spokespersons have now been announced, along with the details of the Labour TDs who will sit on Oireachtas committees to be established over the coming weeks. I have written to all of our councillors to see which areas of policy they want to contribute to.

I have also begun touring the country to meet with our members and supporters. Two weeks ago, I had the great pleasure of speaking at the Tom Johnson Summer School, which Labour Youth did a wonderful job organising, and this week I am visiting Dublin Bay South and Longford Westmeath to meet with more of you.

We may be a smaller party in the Dáil these days, but that hasn’t stopped us from having an immediate impact. Three weeks ago, we defeated the Government in a Private Members’ Motion on workers rights. This was the first time in 25 years that a Government lost such a vote, and shows that when we build coalitions around progressive issues we can still achieve political change.

We are following up that win by pushing forward in other directions. Last week, having consulted with a group of Labour supporters involved in the arts, I called on the Taoiseach to refer the deeply flawed draft Culture 2025 strategy to the joint committee rather than adopting it as Government policy. Fortunately, he agreed to do so. I also raised the shocking statistics that have been published in relation to domestic abuse – this is an issue we will continue pushing over the weeks and months ahead.

Next week, the Labour Party will propose Private Members’ Business once more. And we will use this opportunity to seek to propose progressive policies, and to build coalitions of support for those policies. Please let me know what issues you believe we should’ve highlighting as a party, either in the Oireachtas or in your community.

As I mentioned in my email on Thursday, Sean Sherlock and I travelled to Liverpool to campaign for the UK to remain in the EU. Unfortunately, the murder of Jo Cox was the lasting memory I will have of that trip, and today I signed the book of condolences in the Oireachtas, and on behalf of the party conveyed our collective sympathies to Jeremy Corbyn.

We have done a lot over the last four weeks. And people are beginning to recognise our work – over recent weeks 118 new members have signed up to the Labour Party. As I said when I became Leader, I want to double our membership in the years ahead – to achieve that will take a great deal of collective effort.

If you are proud of the work we have done over recent weeks, and I hope you are, then I ask you to take one action today – please send this email to two of your friends, colleagues or family members who might be interested in joining the Labour Party. Ask them to be part of our rebuild, and to be part of something we can all be proud of.

Yours sincerely,

Brendan Howlin
Leader of the Labour Party

Comments»

1. WorldbyStorm - June 20, 2016

Priceless! 🙂

Like

2. PaddyM - June 20, 2016

Membership was 3,265 in June 2014.

In the UK, Labour and even the Lib Dems got much larger proportional bounces in membership numbers last year.

Like

WorldbyStorm - June 21, 2016

I wonder how solid that official figure is these days

Like

3. dublinstreams - June 21, 2016

its that one Clerys worker they are dragging around to 118 different things

Like


Leave a Reply

