jump to navigation

Sunday Independent Stupid Statement of the Week August 7, 2016

Posted by guestposter in Uncategorized.
trackback

Garibaldy is unavailable, and I’m kind of on a break, but I couldn’t help seeing this from Eoghan Harris which makes me wonder about his definition of ‘straightforward’. In a piece extolling the virtues of John Halligan TD (and the interview with Jason O’Toole in Hot Press during the week) he writes:

…what really brought wrath down on Halligan’s head last week, was him taking sides on a local issue – the leadership of Fine Gael.

Asked whom he favoured, Halligan straightforwardly answered: Simon Coveney.

 

The text from the interview is as follows:

 

Would you like to see Simon Coveney as the next leader of Fine Gael?

I have to be careful with this, but I’ll be honest and upfront with you. I think Simon would be moderately left of centre. If I say to you now that I think Simon should be leader of Fine Gael – that could be a death knell for him (laughs)! The Fine Gael-ers who don’t like me – and there’s a few of them – will say, ‘Well, fuck that! We’re not voting for him’. To tell you the truth: yes, I think he would be a good leader. There are others there too, but I’ve gotten to know him better than anyone else. I think he’s honest and upfront and I think he would do a good job. Now, I’ve said it (laughs)!

 

Entirely straightforward? Well, he got there in the end.

 

Any other stuff of interest?

Comments»

1. Jemmyhope - August 8, 2016

Simon Coveney ‘moderately left of centre’ ..dream on John

Like


Leave a Reply

