jump to navigation

This evening I’ll mainly be listening to … Micheál Ó Domhnaill and Kevin Burke September 12, 2016

Posted by Tomboktu in Culture, Music, This Weekend I'll Mostly Be Listening to....
trackback

It’s the wrong day of the week, and it’s only one song, but when I saw the following in the Guardian, I had to get out this song

Ship found in Arctic 168 years after doomed Northwest Passage attempt

Exclusive: Perfectly preserved HMS Terror vessel sank during disastrous expedition led by British explorer Sir John Franklin

The long-lost ship of British polar explorer Sir John Franklin, HMS Terror, has been found in pristine condition at the bottom of an Arctic bay, researchers have said, in a discovery that challenges the accepted history behind one of polar exploration’s deepest mysteries.

Comments»

1. irishelectionliterature - September 12, 2016

Great stuff. The whole Franklin expedition is fascinating alright. Don’t know if you’ve read “Barrows Boys” but it gives a great description of Britains Artic explorations of the time.

Like

2. Aonrud ⚘ - September 13, 2016

Great indeed!

Though, to be honest I’ve always favoured Martin Carthy’s version – it’s a bit rougher and draws the dirge out a bit.

Like

3. Joe - September 13, 2016

Great song. Great story. Saw a documentary on it a few years back – I got the impression at the time that everything was now known about what happened. This latest development shows that we’ve more to learn. Sinéad O’Connor has a version of the song too. I’m convinced that the first version I heard was from some other female singer on the radio years back – but I haven’t been able to find it. Any tips?

Dylan’s song (title?) “While riding on a train going west, I put back my head to take my rest, I dreamed a dream it made me sad, about the good old days and the first few feiends I ever had” is heavily inflenced by the Lord Franlin ballad.

Like


Leave a comment