jump to navigation

This Weekend I’ll Mostly be Listening to some songs that sum up Christmas for me. What ones sum up Christmas for you? December 24, 2016

Posted by WorldbyStorm in Uncategorized.
trackback

It’s Christmas Eve and it’s Saturday, so there’s a This Weekend. But when I think of songs for Christmas what do I think of? Well there’s the really obvious stuff, but Slade, Wizzard and a raft of others are perhaps played out for me. It’s not that they’re not affecting, but they’re not the ones I really like. And it’s not even as if I love the ones below, but they are particularly Christmassy for me (as it were). When I hear them I know it’s Christmas. And what are they? Ah, well. Let’s just say it’s an odd mix – but these are the ones I’ve boiled it down to with an additional extra at the end which is just a curiosity.

But before we get to them, anyone have their own favourites to add in, and what is it that you’re listening to at the moment? What makes your Christmas? It doesn’t have to be Christmas songs or music, it could be songs you associate with this time, or just music you find yourself listening to at the holidays. Or stuff you first listened to this year which has stuck with you (though our best of the 2016 is a separate post which will go up next week).

Anyhow, here they are.

Grandma got run over by a reindeer(Joe Lynn Turner Stephen Pearce etc)

Run Rudolf Run (with Lemmy, Billy F. Gibbons, Dave Grohl)

The Christmas Song Dianne Reeves I don’t actually much like this song as a composition, but always liked Dianne Reeves and I think she helps make it what it is.

Always liked this one. Mariah Carey – natch!

Even though this is played a lot it seems to me it’s not played quite as often as others. Too utopian.

Happy Xmas (War is Over) by John and Yoko Lennon

And this…

Christmas in New Zealand by the Long Ryders (by the way on YouTube Sid Griffin suggests that this was the only song by the LR’s that John Peel played ever. Really?).

It’s cliched to be Cynical at Christmas – Half Man Half Biscuit. Bloody right.

I kind of like this too…
Dan Fogelberg – Same Old Lang Syne

That too much? How’s this for punky energy? The Fleshtones and Hooray for Santa Claus which I’ve mentioned before…

And here’s this fantastic song which sadly my efforts on this site to make it a Christmas standard have – so far – been unsuccessful. Check out the lyrics. And composed by John Barry no less.

Finally, this is merely included as an oddity. Rainbow, as in Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow, take on a classic and… do what they do.

Snowman by Rainbow

Comments»

1. Mick 2 - December 24, 2016

That last line…

This was on a Christmas songs compilation my parents used to have on when I was a wean. It was track 16 and I used to skip all the other tracks to get to it and play it over and over. Not the usual entry point to Kate Bush’s back catalogue, but this was the one that started my Kate Bush love affair. Very christmassy altogether.

Like

WorldbyStorm - December 24, 2016

It’s weird isn’t it, the stuff that gets lodged in the mind. Particularly at a young age. Happy Xmas above has that quality for me.

Like

2. sonofstan - December 24, 2016

May have posted this before at a similar time?
Fave song from fave band

Like

WorldbyStorm - December 24, 2016

Lovely.

Like

3. Chris Beausang - December 24, 2016

Like

4. nlgbbbblth - December 24, 2016

Earlier this month I made a Christmas mix of songs spanning 1966 to 2006. Some of them are obvious Christmas tunes, others are festive contenders from outside the box while a few more are simply December memories from times past. You might like it. https://www.mixcloud.com/nlgbbbblth/star-fix-an-immaculate-christmas-compilation/

Liked by 1 person

6to5against - December 25, 2016

And very good it is too! Cleared the kitchen of family and I’m blasting it out while cooking the dinner.

Like

nlgbbbblth - December 26, 2016

Thanks very much!

Like

5. LeftAtTheCross - December 24, 2016

On the 25th anniversary of the dissolution of the Soviet Union, Christmas Day 1991, I give you this one:

Like

yourcousin - December 25, 2016

Now that’s a reason to celebrate!

Like

6. irishelectionliterature - December 24, 2016

Not Christmassy but reminds me of one particular Christmas where I got new headphones and was able to listen to this without being told to turn it dowm.
Happy Christmas to you all

Like

WorldbyStorm - December 25, 2016

And to you!

Like

7. oliverbohs - December 25, 2016

1987’s Xmas No.1, “Always on my Mind” by PSB, and not just for the fact that a disgruntled Shane McGowan gave out about being denied a number one by “two queens and a drum machine”.
Merry Xmas to all who contribute or just read this site

Liked by 1 person

8. lamentreat - December 25, 2016

Big Star, “Jesus Christ Was Born Today”

Happy Xmas to one and all.

Like


Leave a Reply

