jump to navigation

This Weekend I’ll Mostly Be Listening to… Mise Éire December 31, 2016

Posted by irishelectionliterature in This Weekend I'll Mostly Be Listening to....
trackback

My son asked me the other day what my favourite song of the year was…… I wondered for a while and then told him that the Patrick Pearse Poem “Mise Éire” sung by Sibéal Ní Chasaide (with music by Patrick Cassisy) was probably my favourite. I’ve seen her sing it live in Croke Park and at another celebration and just thought it incredibly haunting. It’s a song I’ve probably listened to most this year as it just wafts around the room. I’ve also included Mise Éire by Sean O’Riada which is another wonderfulk piece.

Comments»

1. benmadigan - December 31, 2016

here’s some background info about Mise Eire and making the film, together with a brief clip https://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2015/08/22/mise-eire/

Like


Leave a comment