jump to navigation

I4C? Is he? January 20, 2017

Posted by WorldbyStorm in Uncategorized.
trackback

In the report on the new formation Brendan Ogle is meant to be trying to form, referenced here on this site, there’s the following:

Ogle’s group targeted TDs – Tommy Broughan, Joan Collins, Catherine Connolly, Clare Daly, Seamus Healy, Thomas Pringle and Mick Wallace – all of whom bar Healy and Broughan are members of Independents4Change.

I was under the impression (and again dublinstreams has done trojan work trying to get a clear read on this) that Broughan was indeed a member of I4C having contested the last election as same. Is that not correct?

By the way, I’d missed this…

In 2016 Ruth Nolan, a member of South Dublin County Council for Lucan who had been elected for the People Before Profit Alliance, joined Independents4Chan

ge.

Comments»

1. dublinstreams - January 20, 2017

which report?

I havn’t really done trojan work because I havn’t got anywhere, Tommy Broughan keeps telling the media he is an Independent while afaik remaining in I4C. The media is lapping it up, I keep asking them when he left I4C, no answer…. I don’t know why they are reporting what politician tells them rather then reporting what afaik is the truth.

I havn’t find an alternate official list of membership of parties, the Oireachtas website is useless and incorrect I had to remind them the Healy is not representing WUAG as he ran for election as non-party.

Seamus Healy is member of the GP/SD/IND technical group since 27th September and is their representative on the Future of Water committee.

Connolly, Pringle, Maureen O’Sullivan are only members of the I4C technical group but Catherine Connolly did the I4C leaders interview series on RTE This Week http://ift.tt/2jn3s9e (where the interviewer seems to have problem with TDs being independent minded)

Ruth Nolan former PBP https://twitter.com/ruthnolanpbp evidence of change in November https://www.facebook.com/Cllr-Ruth-Nolan-202509366585576/

Like

2. dublinstreams - January 24, 2017

which report?

Like

3. dublinstreams - February 1, 2017

again which ‘report’ you are not clear

Ceann Comhairle’s office tells me it does not know which TD is in which political party.

Like

4. Joe - February 2, 2017

I think I heard Broughan on the radio talking about the proposed new Stardust inquiry recently. And I think he said he was a member of I4C. I think.

And btw, why does this matter? 😦

Like

dublinstreams - February 2, 2017

which radio station which programme, which day, which time?

Like

dublinstreams - February 2, 2017

he may have refferred to an Independents4Change motion rather then his membership of the party. Don’t you think a TD should delcare which party they are a member of, its pretty simple but he refuses to do it and the media refuses to report it.

Like

Joe - February 2, 2017

It was RTE radio 1, it was Morning Ireland. it was two or three days ago. I’m pretty sure he said he was a member of I4C and probably the reason I’m not 100% sure is because I couldn’t give a fiddlers one way or the other, it’s just a flag of convenience for him and others. And since I couldn’t give a fiddlers, why am I writing this?!!

Like

dublinstreams - February 2, 2017

as I thought he refferrs only to the Independents4change technical group he is a member of which put forward the motion http://ift.tt/2jYF66e but thanks anyway 😛

Like

5. depps - February 2, 2017

If you really want an answer to this have you though about just ringing Broughan’s office and asking them – (01) 6183557? (apologies if you already have and they wont give you an answer)

Like

WorldbyStorm - February 2, 2017

I think DS has, but could be wrong.

BTW DS I use the term ‘report’ as in the sense it was reported in the SBP where I read it first, and linked to my piece on that in the OP above…ie a news report (just thinking this sentence would be incomprehensible to someone fifteen years ago what with OP, BTW etc).

Like

dublinstreams - February 2, 2017

the first paragaph above doesn’t seem to be from the SBP can’t find it online.

Like

WorldbyStorm - February 2, 2017

Could be the Phoenix, can’t recall.

Like

dublinstreams - February 2, 2017

what would the point in ringing him? the secretary suggested I ring before, I don’t want a private conversation with him I want him to publically declare which party he is member of, and I’ve asked him to do that, a call is no use I can’t use it, I need something in writing.

Like

6. dublinstreams - February 7, 2017

In a story in the Mirror they mention Tommy Broughan, who says he is no longer an Independents4Change TD. https://www.thesun.ie/news/538871/85-irish-politicians-from-the-dail-and-the-seanad-are-entitled-to-extra-cash-through-salary-top-ups/ so I again emailed Tommy Broughan to ask what date he resigned from the Independents4chnge party. He replied this evening by avoiding asking the question I asked him, he said “I am an Independent TD who is in a Technical Group which includes members of the Independents 4 Change group for many months past.” so I replied ‘please can you tell me exactly what date did you resign from the Independents4change party?’ cos Im not sure he has.

Like

dublinstreams - February 11, 2017

I finally thought of the form of question I could ask that would confirm the membership of I4C, the Parliamentary Acitvities Allowance, it is expected to be €257,472 for a year https://www.kildarestreet.com/wrans/?id=2016-05-26a.450&s=qualifying+Party+section%3Awrans#g452.r
while I was waiting for a yearly report, I researched and thought to ask for how much PAA got _each month_ since the start of the Dail I asked the Dept of PER that question and got a reply from them entirety of which was “The total amount paid under the PAA to the Independents 4 Change Party from February 2016 to date is €241,659.22.”

Using the rates of pay here http://www.per.gov.ie/en/supports-to-the-democratic-process/parliamentary-activities-allowance/ and the guidelines that say its calculated by week but paid by months in arrears http://www.sipo.gov.ie/en/guidelines/state-financing-guidelines/parliamentary-activities-allowance-guidelines/paa-guidelines-party-leaders-111.pdf and if we take “February 2016 to date” to be either 50 or 49 weeks…. I can’t figure out how they arrived at €241,659.22

Like

dublinstreams - February 13, 2017

the PER department said “The Independents 4 Change Party had 4 members elected to the Dáil (no members in the Seanad). Therefore, the monthly amount due to the Party is €21,456 (i.e. €5,364 x 4). The figure of €241,659.22 stated in our previous reply is made up of €21,456 x 11 months (March 2016 – January 2017 inclusive) + an amount of €5,643.22 for part of February 2016 – the month in which the General Election was held.”

So I4C is getting paid that money atleast if not Tommy Broughan, so I again asked him when date he left the I4C party and he replied and yet again he’s refused to answer the question!

Like

7. dublinstreams - February 23, 2017

Can anyone get Tommy Broughan to say whether or not he is in Independents4Change Party., I been trying for year to get him to be clear he claimed two weeks ago that he was ‘no longer a Independents 4 Change TD ‘but he won’t give me a resignation date, so has he actually left the party? https://www.thesun.ie/news/538871/85-irish-politicians-from-the-dail-and-the-seanad-are-entitled-to-extra-cash-through-salary-top-ups/

Like


Leave a Reply

