jump to navigation

A Matrix reboot? April 16, 2017

Posted by WorldbyStorm in Uncategorized.
trackback

Too soon?

I’d think so. Though if someone was able to do something with the third film, and parts of the second…

And speaking of reboots, what of the reviews of Ghost in the Shell are tepid. I have to be honest, I was never a Johanssen fan and her comments on Soda Stream in Israel and the occupied territories left me cold.

But more than that the original is something I love. And the whole point of the original is that it an anime. That’s what adds to it. The idea of it being transported into live action, or in truth CGI action, seems almost to miss the point. It’s like ‘redoing’ the Mona Lisa as a photograph in a lifelike reconstruction using a model who was as close looking to the original as was humanly possible. Sure, it can be done, and in a way the exercise is not uninteresting, but it’s essentially pointless.

Some of the shots in the trailer are very close to the original. But so what? It’s the fact that it is illustrated, animated, the long sweeping moments where nothing happens on screen, or a jet passes low over desolate office blocks that makes the original.

Or am I just being precious and is this a great film and the idea of a remake brilliant?

Comments»

1. EWI - April 16, 2017

A prequel would be interesting (based on the Animatrix shorts?).

Like

2. Robert - April 16, 2017

I’ve wondered if the Matrix sequels are truly that horrendous, or if they’re just disappointing compared to the first one (I’ve never had the courage to rewatch them to find out). And even though I’ve sworn off remakes, I’d be willing to give a reboot a go if it, y’know, made a modicum of sense.

As for Ghost in the Shell: it’s got a different story from the anime, but there are three or for scenes lifted directly therefrom; you could probably guess what these are. Apart from that, it’s not really worth seeing. It looks pretty, but the word that really sums it up for me is ‘boring’. Yet another example of my inevitably regretting the occasional violation of my ‘no remakes’ rule.

Like

WorldbyStorm - April 16, 2017

I do like the second more than many. The third I’m like yourself, afraid to watch again.

Glad I didn’t see GITShell so reading your thoughts above!

Like


Leave a Reply

