jump to navigation

What we are reading and the CLR book club Week 22 May 2017 May 30, 2017

Posted by WorldbyStorm in Uncategorized.
trackback

How about those of us who want to start re-reading Sean Swan’s ‘Official Irish Republicanism: 1962-1972’. It’s available from various online and offline sources. How do we proceed? Read chapters and have thoughts each week in this column? If so, how many chapters, so we are at least on the same page? The Intro alone is so comprehensive shall we take that and then address questions in it.

And what are people reading at the moment?

Comments»

1. GW - May 30, 2017

I’m dipping in to Mieville’s ‘October’ when I get a chance (I’ve got a DRM-free electronic copy [kudos to Verso for staying DRM-free] ) which can be read on my phone.

A rollicking good read. I might even finish it by October 🙂

Like

2. anarchaeologist - May 30, 2017

A slightly left-field choice but I’m re-reading Patrick Corish’s ‘The Catholic Community in the Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries’, part of the Helicon History of Ireland series published in 1981. I picked it up realising I knew very little about the context of the church’s survival in Ireland after the Reformation. Putting aside the author’s inherent biases (a cleric who ran the History Department in Maynooth for years), it’s actually an excellent read which attempts (and succeeds given the paucity of material) to look at things from the bottom up. There were two copies in Chapters the other day for a fiver.

Like

3. Joe - May 30, 2017

“How about those of us who want to start re-reading Sean Swan’s ‘Official Irish Republicanism: 1962-1972’. It’s available from various online and offline sources. How do we proceed?”

I suggest we proceed in stages.

Liked by 2 people

4. Gearóid - May 30, 2017

My copy is back in Ireland, but I read through it twice for my thesis and would be interested to follow this discussion and take part where I may.

Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

