jump to navigation

How do we read, what we are reading and the CLR Book Club – Week 26 June 2017 June 27, 2017

Posted by WorldbyStorm in Uncategorized.
trackback

 

Here’s a question. How do you read? Not the mechanics, but when and how. I try to catch ten or fifteen minutes at lunch eating a sandwich if I can and then later in the evening for an hour or so. Maybe more if I can grab the time. How about you?

 

Anyhow, on to our latest book, Angela Nagles Kill All Normies – anyone got it and is anyone ready to read it?

Comments»

1. Starkadder - June 27, 2017

I’ve seen AN’s book on sale in Books Upstairs, but haven’t bought it yet. A review here:

View story at Medium.com

I wonder does the book discuss the ideological roots of the alt-right? It seems a discussion of people like Steve Sailer, Mencius Moldbug, and Paul Gottfried would be germane to any discussion of the alt-right- vulgarised versions of their ideas often turn up in alt-right websites and posts.

Like

WorldbyStorm - June 27, 2017

I haven’t started it yet but completely agree. I’ll hold off a week until people are ready if there’s a consensus to get it.

Like

2. sonofstan - June 27, 2017

How do I read? Let me count the ways….

Actually, right now, engaged on project that demands a lot of reading, so every spare minute not reading for work feels like cheating. So I’m carrying around bags of books/ printouts everywhere I go and making notes – because, despite ‘research’ being part of what I’m contracted to do, in reality, it’s a ‘in your spare time’ activity.

Normally I read best in the morning; I get up early to avoid having to rush to work, have a long cup of coffee on the way and read then. I always have a book in the bag though, and I read fast, especially fiction.

On a related point and a ‘kids today’ moan, so beloved of this site, someone said to me today that his students refer to all books, fiction, non-fiction, academic texts as ‘novels’ as if it were a synonym. I realised I’ve heard some of mine do the same.

Like

3. Joe - June 27, 2017

I’m a bit of a hoarder. I buy books and don’t always read them. I read at lunchtime. Usually go out for lunch on me tod from work and read a book. I find I reread stuff too – I’m into kind of folklore stuff and it suits re-reading.
I’m a very slow reader.
Remember the Dirty Dust?, the Máirtín Ó Cadhain book that was the first attempt in the CLR Book Club. That’s on my shelf at work and I’ll pick it up again in the next year maybe and probably finish it then!

Liked by 1 person

4. Starkadder - June 29, 2017

This looks interesting: a book on the influential market fundamentalist and opponent of the Civil Rights Movement,
James M. Buchanan. “Democracy in Chains” by Nancy MacLean.

https://www.jacobinmag.com/2017/06/democracy-in-chains-review-nancy-maclean-james-buchanan

Seems like Leo Strauss and R. J. Rushdoony, Buchanan is a key figure in the US Right.

Like


Leave a Reply

