jump to navigation

This Weekend I’ll Mostly Be Listening to… Mark Kozelek AC/DC covers July 1, 2017

Posted by irishelectionliterature in This Weekend I'll Mostly Be Listening to....
trackback

There was a time I had all his solo albums, Sun Kill Moon and Red House Painters albums…. but Mark Kozelek is so prolific that it’s hard to keep up. I ended up buying albums and barely listening to them. Allied to that he seems to be more than an acquired taste as any time I play stuff he’s involved in I get asked to “turn off that miserable shite”. There are times though that you need slow and miserable.
So prolific is he that in recent times quality control hasn’t been great, albums are a bit hit and miss and dare I say it a bit samey. So I’ve become less dedicated to keeping up with his output. Thats a thing too in that once you start collecting material from an artist it’s slightly difficult to stop 🙂
The 2001 “Rock n’ Roll Singer” album was covers of AC/DC songs and it’s probably my favourite of his solo albums. It’s basically the songs deconstructed and put back together again very differently.

Comments»

1. sonofstan - July 1, 2017

If I owned a record shop, I’d have a ‘Miserable Shite’ section.

Like

WorldbyStorm - July 1, 2017

I quite like them, and only heard them while following up on another of IEL’s This Weekend, though I think in some instances they deconstruct the songs a tad too far.

But just on record shop categorisations I’d love to have honest sections – ‘On-trend’, ‘Contrived’, ‘Pretentious’ etc…

Like

Michael Carley - July 1, 2017

The notion of a store which classified its records under headings like ‘Albums Done to Get out of Contractual Obligations, A-Z’, ‘Albums Designed to Annoy the Artist’s Ex, A-Z’, ‘Records Men Like to have Sex by, A-Z’ and ‘Records Women Like to have Sex by, A-Z’ is admittedly rather attractive, but it would take a hell of a long time to find all the Marvin Gaye records.

Charles Shaar Murray, Crosstown traffic

Liked by 1 person

2. GearĂłid - July 2, 2017

Good point re quality control.

Perils from the Sea is the standout album for me. It was one of the only albums we had in a van for a two-week roadtrip around the Balkans during the 2015 heatwave. Played on repeat driving along a large plain with Niš off to the side, twisting roads into Kosovo like a sun-baked Monaghan, strange soundtrack.

Like


Leave a Reply

