jump to navigation

British Socialism: The Grand Tour February 20, 2018

Posted by guestposter in History, Socialism.

BBC Radio 4 is running a series on “British Socialism: The Grand Tour”. It consists of 12 programmes. The first two are available, 15 minutes each. Tantilisingly, this is labelled “Series 1”, so there may be more in the future.


Episode 1 (yesterday) dealt with Robert Owen, and episode 2 (today) with the Chartists. The rest of this week’s episodes consist of: The Rochdale Society of Equitable Pioneers; The Revolutionaries; and Keir Hardie and Ramsay McDonald. (There is an omnibus edition on Friday evening).

Next week kicks off with Beatrice and Sidney Webb and the Fabian Society; and Ernest Bevin v Stafford Cripps. (No word yet on the remaining 4 episodes in series 1.)



1. neilmoxham - February 21, 2018

Great stuff – thanks!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: