jump to navigation

Exams Time June 16, 2024

Posted by WorldbyStorm in Uncategorized.
trackback

So, the Junior Certificate, a thing in both in the state and in the house. 136,160 students sat it this year. I know a few of them. And it’s brought changes, not least a period of concentrated study. All seems about as calm as could be expected, there’s some confidence and some realism (maths appears to be genetically a problem for ByStorms – but thankfully science is okay, fingers crossed, and fun fact, spreadsheets and accounts are not alien to me or incomprehensible, it’s just equations, so that genetic problem is a bit selective) but it’s like the election, until the results are in who knows how things have gone really? 

But a bit like PTSD I’m getting flashbacks to sitting in exam halls – in Greendale Community School we did the Group in Second Year and the Intermediate in Third. Then it was on to the Leaving Certificate in Senior Two (which was the 5th and final year) though I seem to recall doing the Matriculation as well. And then there was repeating the Leaving Certicate in a fee-charging school, which to my perverse satisfaction saw little or no change in the results and had no impact on my getting into third level because that was on portfolio and interview. So that was a lot of exams across four or five years. A lot of exam halls. A lot of staring at exam papers with either Cold dread/Resignation/Mild anticipation/Actual enjoyment. That last was pretty perverse, but I enjoyed English and History and Art, and Irish on a good day – I wasn’t great at the last, I could speak it reasonably well but writing, I was not even so so. There were the ones you winged, could go okay, could go terrible, Economics, French. And others I can’t even recall doing, did I do Geography after the Inter? I don’t know. Does it matter, after all when was the last time someone asked you for your Leaving results, let alone Inter/Junior ones? Art I didn’t sit for classes due to a clash with another subject but did grand in the Leaving both times. Religion I enjoyed as a class, but we never had an examination.

I’ve never forgotten sitting there, looking at the front page of the exam book and realising that it had to be done. I’d micromanage the pencils and parers and erasers and try to make sense of the fact I was trapped in a space that was confined to the wooden rectangle of the table top. The other thing was to keep the head down and pretend that I was actually working through the papers, well at least for some of them.

There were stories, there were always stories. A sort of pre-internet/social media, mythology about students who were repeating and had – I kid you not, these were grim times, killed themselves during an exam with an upright pencil. I won’t go into details. It seemed unlikely, even at the time, but how could you check? Or less grim tales of people cheating. Equations on pieces of paper hidden up sleeves or scratched into those metal sets that contained protractors and so on. I heard of one person who had etched equations in miniature onto the plastic rulers and got away with it though my feeling was if you went to that much trouble you kind of deserved to take the win, the process of doing was almost certainly going to mean some knowledge rubbed off on you. I couldn’t be pushed. I mean, with maths I’d have needed toilet rolls covered in minute text swathed like bandages around my limbs and torso just to get to a point where I was able to barely grasp what was going on – and actually three and then two and then three years of study suggested to me that that still wouldn’t work. There didn’t seem to be any great point to that.

I was talking to a relative recently whose perception of it all was that I didn’t study ahead of that first Leaving. Not true. Not bleeding true at all. I studied a lot. I spent hours with Gerry Ryan’s show in the evening, what was it called – Rocksound? – looking at books, not necessarily in them, or tossing pens in the air and catching them, a skill that is not acknowledged widely enough in my view and certainly not at the Leaving, as I tried to drum various elements of education into my head. To little enough effect. Again I’d kind of checked out due to being depressed. But I went through the motions and more than the motions as we all did. And despite being resigned to failure, I did, bar one or two results, grand all things considered.

And then I repeated that process the following year. I read about people who get A’s or B’s in everything and I wonder about that. What’s that like? But I kind of suspect I know because the one’s I did well in weren’t difficult, didn’t raise a sweat, they could just be done and on to the next. It was the others that were hard fought, or not fought at all. That D in Chemistry almost meant more than the mark in History or whatever. Getting a passing grade in honours Irish eventually likewise. I did an okay Leaving both times but it was the edge cases that were the most satisfying. 

And as it happens the area of study I went into subsequently didn’t have any exams whatsoever – just assessments (and essays and theses, which are not the same thing). In fact the next and last exam I did was an open book one (I was amazed at the idea of that) in business accountancy on a Diploma course about ten years later. It almost didn’t feel like an exam at all. 

I think that exams can be a good part of a mix with continual assessment and tests along the way. Not that I’d want to face them ever again. Got a lot of sympathy for those who’ve had to just endure them.

Comments»

1. Tomboktu - June 16, 2024

I did a master’s where the exams were take home, 4-day. We were warned to look at the past papers, because the questions did not test knowledge but sought analysis and argument. (Not sure that works work in physics.)

I did a diploma for work a few years after that where we had the traditional closed book exams (alongside essays, a ‘learning diary’, and a group presentation). Never again.

Liked by 1 person

sonofstan - June 16, 2024

I used to think doing exams was the worst thing ever until I had to set and then mark them. Marking is hell. Thankfully, we’ve more or less got rid of them.

Liked by 3 people

WorldbyStorm - June 16, 2024

Marking is hell. Then again marking essays or theses can be pretty grim too.

Like

2. alanmyler - June 16, 2024

Like in the ByStorm household we have a yearly interaction with the exams through the missus in the house being a teacher. Thankfully for us the kids are all out of the second level system and only our youngest is still in third level. But in fact only yesterday we were discussing the complete lack of understanding of what “studying” meant, or how to actually do it. I only got the hang of it in college. But apparently they kids are taught, or at least guided, these days in how to go about it. God love them. Things are far too intense these days. Despite doing ok in the LC, and doing better in college, I do still get semi regular exam dreams, or nightmares. Mine involve always the same thing, meeting a friend on the way to college and him saying we have an exam today in whatever subject, and me replying “did we study that subject this year????”. Scarred for life clearly.

Liked by 1 person

alanmyler - June 16, 2024

PS, best of luck to the student in the house!

Liked by 1 person

WorldbyStorm - June 16, 2024

I don’t get the exam one but I do get the ‘I’m still in school/college’ delete as applicable. Wonder what that’s about. I mean I’m not enjoying being there in the dreams.

That’s interesting about study. A how to would have been helpful. The thing is all things in moderation. Not too much study and more understanding and comprehension.

Liked by 1 person

3. 6to5against - June 17, 2024

it’s btw, but I think the 136000 figure includes L Cert students. But it’s a huge figure nonetheless.

We had a J Cert student in the house too which makes both our kids part of a phenomenal demographic bulge. There were about 75k kids been born annually around 2008/09 – the largest figure since the 1800s. 10 yrs before it was around 53k, a figure that more or less matches more recent years.

That’s a 40% bump making its way through the system.

Liked by 1 person

WorldbyStorm - June 17, 2024

I think you’re right that’s the total number (and hope it’s going well for you and yours). Amazing those numbers re 2008/9.

Like

4. NFB - June 17, 2024

One of enduring memories of the JC cycle when I did it was the day of results, when our 4th year head confidently informed us just ahead of them being released that they meant nothing and the “real work” started now. This was after a year of what I recall as very sustained pressure from all and sundry to do well. He was right though. Nearly 20 years later, and what does the JC actually get you, other than practise?

I hear others in the comments talking about residual anxiety about exams, I too have the odd dream, well, nightmare, where I’m back studying from the moment I got home from school to the moment I went to bed. A horrible time, and like others have said it was a useless experience in terms of prepping you for the college environment, where the regurgitation of rote facts and interpretations got you nowhere.

I work in academia admin at the moment, and there has been a difficult transition for some students as we went back to written in-person exams after a period of open-book at-home ones, but the in-person is here to stay, because of the fear of AI from academic management. I don’t think it’s a very fair method of adjudging competence myself, but having already dealt with numerous cases of confirmed and suspected AI-generated assessment, it might have to go down as a necessary evil.

Liked by 1 person

WorldbyStorm - June 17, 2024

That’s very true re the reality those exams don’t really prepare for third level. It’s not very joined up.

I had t thought about AI in that context but it does make sense that it would be necessary to have some component of exams in the mix.

Like


Leave a comment