jump to navigation

This Weekend I’ll Mostly Be Listening to… The Gloaming January 25, 2014

Posted by irishelectionliterature in This Weekend I'll Mostly Be Listening to....
trackback

My brother mentioned a few weeks back that he was going to see The Gloaming in The National Concert Hall tonight. I was jealous and annoyed at myself that I’d missed that they were on. I went to see if there were tickets and alas it was sold out….. then this week a few more went on sale and I was one of the lucky ones to get tickets.
The Gloaming are Thomas Bartlett, Dennis Cahill, Martin Hayes, Iarla Ó Lionáird and Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh, I’ve previously done TWIMBLTs on Martin Hayes and Iarla Ó Lionáird two members of the group.
Hayes (and his regular partner Dennis Cahill) played on Ó Lionáirds ‘I Could Read The Sky’ album so the addition of Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh and Thomas Bartlett gives extra dimensions to the music.
I’ve included two clips from the superb Gloaming documentary that was on RTE over the Christmas, an introduction clip and a great one on how Thomas Bartlett met Martin Hayes.
‘The Sailors bonnet’ below is pure Hayes with the added style of Bartletts piano. ‘Saoirse’ is mainly Ó Lionáird and Bartlett but Hayes and Ó Raghallaigh add an almost wonderful eeriness to it. ‘Samhradh Samhradh’ sees them all involved to a large degree and its just fantastic. The other three clips are from shows taken by audience members, still good though.
Even getting this post together has raised the excitement and expectation levels and as I write…. its still undecided if its my wife or son that gets to go to the NCH with me 🙂
Enjoy …..




Comments»

1. irishelectionliterature - January 27, 2014

Last night in the NCH was one of the musical highlights of my life. I was thrilled to share it with my 13 year old son. He was mesmerized (as was I) , if they are playing anywhere near you go and see, get the new album. Its astonishing stuff live.
A review of last nights performance.
http://www.irishtimes.com/blogs/ontherecord/2014/01/27/review-the-gloaming-at-national-concert-hall-dublin/

Like

2. irishelectionliterature - August 23, 2014

Still a few tickets left for their March 1st 2015 show in the NCH,

Like

3. sonofstan - March 4, 2015

Just back from seeing them in the Barbican – when the piano and guitar lock together in that neu- beat groove, and the hardanger scraping away and the harmonium, it turns into the Velvet Underground and Iarla. Rocks like no other Irish (-ish) band since MBV.

Things that will never happen, but should: someone takes Iarla Ó Lionáird to Muscle Shoals to make a soul record – imagine that voice singing Al Green – stylee?

Like

4. irishelectionliterature - March 4, 2015

Saw them on Sunday night at the NCH, they were stunning and have evolved in sound over the past year. My son came along with me again and was once again blown away.
It really is something else when all five of them are battering away!

Like

sonofstan - March 4, 2015

Sure is!

Tom Bartlett recounted a horrifying dream he had this afternoon, where they were joined by a phantom bongo player…..he claims he woke up and told the lads that ‘no, we don’t need a drummer’!

Like

5. irishelectionliterature - February 29, 2016

Interrupted the Election and went to see them on Saturday night in The NCH. Again amazing and young lad with me too. New album is brilliant also and is available to listen to here.
http://nialler9.com/gloaming-album-two-listen-full/

Like

6. irishelectionliterature - February 29, 2016

Like

7. This Weekend I’ll Mostly Be Listening to… Doveman “Footloose” | The Cedar Lounge Revolution - September 24, 2016

[…] very different. Doveman is Thomas Bartlett that I really first came across as pianist with The Gloaming. He also plays guitar and is a renowned producer. I love the version of “Lets hear it for the […]

Like


Leave a comment