jump to navigation

Margaret Atwood on John Wyndham September 20, 2015

Posted by WorldbyStorm in Uncategorized.
trackback

Always liked John Wyndham’s cosy catastrophes – thought truth is that was more John Christopher’s style, and this is an interesting piece by Margaret Atwood on Wyndham.

The Day of the Triffids was good, if overblown (and perhaps not so oddly reminiscent of Wells). The Kraken Wakes was my favourite. An alien invasion story that had genuinely alien aliens. They don’t care in the slightest about humans, they just want to terraform the Earth to their advantage and we’re an inconvenience.

The Chrysalids – I spent days trying to work out whether certain characters in it came from Holland or New Zealand. I’m pretty sure it was the latter. The Midwich Cuckooks which was pretty creepy. Not quite so cosy.

Like Atwood I never read The Outward Urge or Trouble with Lichen, though I recall attempting the last and not getting anywhere. Nor did I read Chocky which is the subject of her article. But it sounds good.

Comments»

1. JM - September 20, 2015

I probably shouldn’t admit this but I have the “Chocky” T.V. show .Available in full on youtube .

Like

2. Liberius - September 20, 2015

On the subject of John Christopher, I read ‘The death of grass’ at the back end of last year. The basic premise of a virus killing off the world’s grass species is something unique really in a novel from the 1950s. Anyway I found it an amusing read albeit one that loses its coherence towards the end almost like Youd was racing against himself to finish writing it. Certainly the last 50 pages don’t have the same subtle menace that the first 100 had.

Like

3. Quotes Wednesday | InstaScribe - October 13, 2015

[…] Margaret Atwood on John Wyndham […]

Like


Leave a comment