jump to navigation

This Weekend I’ll Mostly Be Listening to…Doc Watson (1923-2012) June 2, 2012

Posted by yourcousin in Culture, This Weekend I'll Mostly Be Listening to..., United States.
trackback

First with sincere apologies to WBS who had a fine TWIMBLT lined up as always, but with the passing of Doc Watson this week at the age of 89 I felt the need to celebrate his life and music.\

[Apology accepted, 🙂 I was away from my computer until this evening and had already scheduled the Hawkwind post so I didn’t realise this was posted, so I’m bouncing this up the page so more people see it. Great post with a great topic – wbs]

I remember as a small child being entranced by the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band’s album “Will the Circle Be Unbroken” LP which adorned my dad’s dresser. The concept of the album was to showcase traditional music and to show the comraderie among musicians as well as bridging a gap between generations (the Nitty Gritty were of my parent’s generation while the big names were of my grandparent’s+ generation). This was my first introduction to Doc Watson, along with many other classic musicians.

Renowned as a picker, guitarist, and singer. I find it odd to see him remembered as a “folk singer” because in any sense of the word he was first, foremost and lastly a country music icon. It is telling that his passing was not mentioned on modern country radio stations aside from as part of the news.

I don’t see the point in me rewriting his obituary, those can be found easily enough. If you’re familiar with his work then let this be a moment to reflect and remember. If you haven’t heard Doc yet then take some time and give a listen, it is most definitely worth your time.

Comments»

1. crocodile - June 2, 2012

Good stuff, yourcousin. The ‘will the circle be unbroken’ sessions are gold mines. None of the showing off you get on rock celeb jams. By the way, Neil Young & Crazy Horse have a good version of Tom Dooley on their new album ( they call it Tom Dula).

Like

2. que - June 3, 2012

+1

Like


Leave a comment