jump to navigation

This Weekend I’ll Mostly Be Listening to… Rock of Ages November 19, 2016

Posted by irishelectionliterature in This Weekend I'll Mostly Be Listening to....
trackback

Tonight I’ll probably be heading along to my sons school where he is one of the male leads in the school musical “Rock of Ages”. I went the other night too and it was brilliant fun.
When the auditions were on I hadn’t heard of “Rock of Ages” , I looked it up and was amused to see what was on the soundtrack. There was amazement from my son as his parents started singing (badly) a few bits from most songs in the soundtrack. The amazement that comes with youth thinking that they were the first ones to discover music and even worse that your parents actually liked all this music…. (Well it wouldn’t have all been my cup of tea, as a metal fan during the era the music comes from it drove me mad to have bands like Poison,Europe and more classed as Metal.) … but sure it was hard not to know all the songs as they would have been features on the radio, MTV and even MT USA!
Quite a feel good mix of sounds …..

Comments»

1. Musical taste… the first albums we bought and other matters | The Cedar Lounge Revolution - November 19, 2016

[…] Funnily enough this kind of elides with IEL’s post today on Rock of Ages – a lot of those tracks, not least the soft rock ones have a place in my heart. I’ve been reading Gareth Murphy’s overview of the record industry – Cowboys and Indies, dipping in and out as the mood takes me. It’s a great read. There’s so much in there, and some intriguing thoughts on just how ill-prepared for the digital era it all was – small wonder Apple snuck in when it did. […]

Like


Leave a comment