jump to navigation

Seven (plus one) for Summer July 4, 2009

Posted by WorldbyStorm in Culture, This Weekend I'll Mostly Be Listening to....
trackback

I’ve done this before last Summer and the thought struck me that it would be fun to do it again. So here it is. Seven tracks that are providing me with a musical accompaniment to the Summer. They’re not exactly comprehensive, by which I mean some of them stand in for other tracks. So, for example, while I like the Manic Street Preachers song, there are better ones on that album by quite some way. But so far no one has got around to releasing a video on YouTube for them. And while some might say they’re not exactly Summery… well, this is my view of Summer and almost all of them bring to mind the long evenings and/or being at gigs with condensation dripping from the walls somewhere or another.

Manic Street Preachers.

Jackie Collins Existential Question Time

Great chorus and at least an echo of that snarling aggression which fuelled their peak of creativity in the early to mid-1990s – up to the point where Richey died (although I have a soft spot for Know Your Enemy from 2001). Sure, The Holy Bible is better, no question, but this is good, very good indeed and that’s a change after a series of really not so great albums.

All India Radio

Four Three

I could rave about these guys. They’re Australian, electronic and have been around since the late 1990s. They do ambient, television and film scores, pop and even New Order like dance excursions under their side project Big Spaceship. But their work as All India Radio is fantastic. This is a perfect summation on their melancholy take on dance. And for those of us who remember Screen Test with Michael Rodd from the 1970s and in particular the Young Filmakers’ short contributions that rather plastic looking spaceship looks fairly familiar (which is as it should be since one of their number claims to have made Super 8 movies of spaceships back when he was a kid).

Hawkwind

Treadmill

Well, it’s cheesy, it’s almost twenty years old and it does go on a bit, but there’s something about that guitar line that evokes Neil Young’s “Mr Soul”… in a good way. A three minute version would be a treasure. To me.

Doves

Jetstream

The album is neither as consistent nor as listenable as previous efforts, but… it does have its moments. This is 5 or so of them…

Sonic Youth

What We Know

Yeah, Sonic Youth indeed. Kim Gordon is 56. I hope I too am as fleet of foot and have learned to play the guitar (or the bass, I’m not fussy) in thirteen or so years. And while you’re thinking about that think about this… The latest album, The Eternal, is cracking. Riffs, melodies, discordance. Same as it ever was really. And like, say, Motorhead who have ploughed their own similarly individual furrow, you can’t ask for much more than that. Not really.

The Church

Pangaea

Taken from another somewhat disappointing album, #23, like that from Doves. Their latest doesn’t hit the highs of 2003’s Forget Yourself or even the more recent Uninvited, Like the Clouds which was fine albeit a bit Pink Floyd for my tastes (never a good thing). Mid-tempo compositions that leave a bit to be desired, but… there’s something about this track which does the business. Not least the way parts of the chorus reminds me of John Lennon…

Section 25

Looking from a Hilltop

A throwback to Factory’s finest hours. Now, no-one would ever say Section 25 were up there with New Order in the pop stakes, and arguably their more dour earlier side such as Friendly Fires was more effective, but… this’ll do. This’ll do.

Check out the ‘mobile’ phone on the video about 30 seconds in… dear God. It’s great.

And one extra, just for luck…

Blank Dogs

Setting Fire to your House

Speaking of Factory, here’s someone who one suspects really really wished they’d been back there way back then. Or otherwise it’s a pretty high quality pisstake (and consider that this is part of the no-fi or ‘shitgaze’ movement… yeah, cool)… Apparently highly popular in New York where Mr. Dog, it’s one man behind the band, is based – and there’s some link to Crystal Stilts. And the video? Somehow New Order videos come to mind. But, gotta love that bassline, lifted almost straight from NO’s Movement.

That and a useful safety message implicit in the song

I’d be interested in others lists…

.

Comments»

1. Vabian - July 4, 2009

I liked everything the Doves have done, but “Catch the
Sun” is my favourite track from them.

I’m really getting into Bat For Lashes’ new album “Two
Suns” as well.

Like

2. WorldbyStorm - July 4, 2009

I love Catch the Sun, it’s genius. I’d pretty much agree it’s their best, although Words, Black and White Town and Sky Starts Falling come pretty close…

Like

3. alastair - July 4, 2009

Seven random summer favourites:

Camp Lo – Luchini (samples the horns riff from Dynasty – Adventures in the Land of Music)
The Fall – Free Range
Donny Hathaway – The Ghetto
Lambchop – Up With People (Zero 7 Remix)
Souls Of Mischief – ’93 ’til Infinity
Pinball count – DJ Food (reworked samples of the classic sesame street piece)
Was-A-Bee – This Is What You Are

Like

4. Damian O'Broin - July 4, 2009

Six very random current summer-y favourites:

Pulling on a Line – Great Lake Swimmers
Shadow of the Sun – Paul Wellar
The River – Bruce Springsteen
Fire It Up – Modest Mouse
Flume – Bon Iver
Milkshake – Holy F**K

Like

5. Gypsy - July 4, 2009

I’m with Vabian. Love all the Doves stuff and that includes the new album. And they also get my vote for best gig of the year (so far). I’ll have to give some thought to summer-y sounds.

Like

6. Crocodile - July 4, 2009

La Maison ou j’ai Grandi – Francoise hardy
Tiger Mountain Peasant Song – Fleet Foxes
Love You More -Buzzcocks
Dear Gabby – Eames Conspiracy
Surf – Roddy Frame
Stolen Car – Patti Griffin
All the way From Memphis – Mott the Hoople

Like

7. WorldbyStorm - July 4, 2009

Okay, and cheers to all of you for contributing, pulling one from each of those selections I’d go for Doves again, Lambchop most definitely, Springsteen and Buzzcocks. We need more, much more… 🙂

Like

8. Phil - July 4, 2009

Keep Finding Me – Robyn Hitchcock
Sir Patrick Spens – Wendy Grossman
Rosemary – Scott Walker
‘Twas on One April Morning – Tony Rose
My Night With The Prostitute From Marseille – Realpeople (a.k.a. Beirut)
Come All You Little Streamers – Shirley Collins
Mine’s Not A High Horse – the Shins

All a bit chilled-out, really, and mostly rather old. (I know I was listening to something quite noisy the other day, but I’m damned if I can remember what it was.) Since I got into folk I’m in the weird position of actually not wanting to buy anything new – I don’t think I’d know where to start. I still keep up with Hitchcock, Beirut and the Earlies, but when none of them have anything out (which is most of the time, obviously) I’m likely to come out of a record shop empty-handed, which is quite a new experience for me. (What tends to happen is that I drift towards the “folk” rack, then drift right off again when I realise that none of it’s actually traditional material.)

Like

9. WorldbyStorm - July 4, 2009

Phil, kudos for Hitchcock, as ever (btw were you at that gig in London in I think 96/7 where he played at a tiny venue which had a downstairs with a hole cut out of the roof for the upstairs, so if you were seated downstairs you could just barely see up to his chest and if you were upstairs you could only see his head?). I too have problems. I’ve discovered I’ve a ton of music which I love which I don’t have time to listen to. Partially because there’s new stuff, partially because I’m listening to stuff I love a bit more. Do I cut the latter out for the former, or vice versa? I can’t work it out. As regards record shops, you describe my problem precisely, albeit not in folk. There’s just nothing there I want to get. It’s too easy or something. I tend to leave with no purchases (and in truth downloads are cheaper). I have, though developed a habit of finding ripped stuff which is deleted by record labels on ver web… it’s filling out some of the gaps where I have vinyl but the stuff was never released on CD.

Like

10. sonofstan - July 5, 2009

That venue is the 12 Bar on -or off – Denmark St. : Saw Wreckless Eric there a few years back ……

What I listen to is pretty much dictated by what I find in charity shops, car boot sales etc. – all vinyl: can’t be doing with Cds anymore, nevermind downloads (actually I do DL stuff – I just never listen to it)
Recently I’ve been unearthing a rich vein of country music, so that’s been mostly what I’ve been listening to……..it’s more exciting than ‘deciding’ what to like next……

1) In the Good Ol’ Days (when Times were Bad)- Merle Haggard sings Dolly: a darkly unsentimental memory of deprivation and humiliation ‘anything at all was more than we had/ in the good ol’ days when times were bad’ and

No amount of money could buy from me /The memories that I have of then
No amount of money could pay me/ To go back and live through it again

Merle is a kind of hero of mine – his politics are a little off putting sometimes- ‘you won’t find me on the welfare line/ that’s one place I’ll never be’- (OK, a lot of the time) but as a voice of the US working class he’s unrivalled – and the fact that he turned away from Bush in disgust says a lot. He’s unremittingly, sometimes uncomfortably honest as well.

My Rough and Rowdy Ways – Webb Pierce sings Jimmie Rodgers

(I Want the Real Thing) – Chip Taylor

Me and Bobby McGee – Jerry Lee Lewis (a great rocker, but a greater country singer – he takes a song that often sounds a bit soppy and makes it filthy)

Don’t Fall in Love with a Married Man – Jean Shepard – for a genre that’s meant to be conservative, country is way more open about sexual politics that pop; only early 70s female soul singers such as Laura Lee came close to the straight talking proto-feminism of Shepard, Kitty Wells and Loretta)

Daddy Was A Preacher but mama was a Go-Go Gild – Joanna Neel
‘Daddy loved the bible but mama loved the ways of the world’

Mama Tried – the Everly Brothers do Merle

and a bonus….

Clint West – Try Me – classic cajun cover of the James Brown tune

Like

11. sonofstan - July 5, 2009

‘Mama was a go-go girl” (not a gild ….)

Like

12. Phil - July 5, 2009

I have, though developed a habit of finding ripped stuff which is deleted by record labels on ver web

M3 T00 – as a perverse consequence of one guy’s refusal to re-release a couple of huge back catalogues, it’s an excellent way of building a folk library.

Like

13. EamonnCork - July 5, 2009

Walking on a Wire – Richard and Linda Thompson
Streets of Your Town – Go Betweens
White Girl – X
Killing the Blues – John Prine
Stereotypes – The Specials
Song of the Faithful Departed – The Radiators
Heather – The Wedding Present

Like

14. EamonnCork - July 5, 2009

And the plus one is
If I Was Your Girlfriend – Prince
Plus
Tumbling Dice – The Rolling Stones
Powderfinger – Neil Young
Station to Station – David Bowie
How Can You Mend A Broken Heart – Al Green
Mendocino – Kate and Anna McGarrigle
Domino – Van Morrison

Like

15. Gypsy - July 5, 2009

A Certain Someone – The Sundays
Regret – New Order
Ocean and a Rock – Lisa Hannigan
Little Fluffy Clouds – The Orb
Man On Mir – Bell X1
Bye Bye Badman – The Stone Roses

And the plus one:
Anything by Bob Marley (for the beach)

Like

16. Dr. X - July 5, 2009

Neko Case – Don’t Forget Me. And the rest of the Middle Cyclone album.

Like

17. Starkadder - July 5, 2009

Don’t Argue- Cabaret Voltaire
DJ Culture- Pet Shop Boys
Atmosphere- Joy Division
Hold Music- Architecture in Helsinki
Golden Age- TV on the Radio
Wraith Pinned to the Mist and other games-Of Montreal
Pilots-Goldfrapp

Plus one:

Aguirre theme-Popol Vuh (the theme from Herzog’s film).

Like

18. Damian O'Broin - July 5, 2009

2 more to bring it up to 7+1

Stockton Gala Days – 10,000 Maniacs
The Boys are Back in Town – Thin Lizzy
(seems as it’s a Leinster Final Day…)

Like

19. anarchaeologist - July 6, 2009

Gawd… I’ve been resisting the temptation but here goes:

Sonic Youth: Stereo Sanctity
Because the young fella’s just turned 7 and we’ve heard a lot of SY recently.

The Special AKA: Girlfriend
Gets the kids into a ska mode which invariably means I can play most of the rest of In The Studio on the pretext we’ll play Racist Friend. And if I’m really lucky I can sneak on the Specials’ greatest hits thing.

Robert Forster: 121
The archaeology song. The health food store used to be on Meath Street.

The Beatles: Yellow Submarine
Because it’s the young wan’s favourite tune at the moment and it means we have to play Lucyintheskywitdinums immediately afterwards.

That Petrol Emotion: Hey Venus!
Because it’s summer.

Jubilee Allstars: Lost Poets
A hymn to architectural conservation taken up lustily from the back seat of the car whenever played.
‘But I still think I love the city/Even though it ain’t so pretty now/In fact it’s falling down/It’s falling down’.

Sonic Youth: Bubblegum
We’ll go out the way we came in. I think it’s a Kim Fowley cover?

Oh, and if WbS will permit an eight (for rainy days)?
Wilco: Either Way

Like

20. Damian O'Broin - July 6, 2009

anarchaeologist: surely there’s always room for Wilco….

Like

21. This Weekend I’ll mostly be listening to… the 25 tracks I’ve enjoyed listening to most in 2011 « The Cedar Lounge Revolution - December 31, 2011

[…] link up to produce something interesting. Kennedy’s outfit All India Radio [referenced here] mixes and merges with Kilbey’s vocals to good effect. Their second album together released […]

Like


Leave a comment